Friday April 08, The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame will welcome new inductees Cheap Trick, Chicago, Steve Miller, N.W.A. and Deep Purple, with the first three being nominated for the first time.  Those not making it in this year include Chic — now snubbed a record ten times — Nine Inch Nails, The Smiths and Janet Jackson.

Other rejections this year are James Brown‘s backup band The J.B.s, Los Lobos, Chaka Khan, The Spinners and Yes, whose non-inclusion has long been a source of frustration for fans.

This year, the Hall gave a number of its influential nominating committe members their walking papers, and word on the street was that there was a move afoot to bring in younger voters and more women.

N.W.A. have been nominated four times.  They’re the fifth hip-hop act to be inducted, following Grandmaster Flash, Run-DMC, The Beastie Boys and Public Enemy.

As for Deep Purple, the inducted lineup contains most of the members from the band’s classic 1960s to mid 1970s iteration:  Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Jon Lord, Roger Glover, Ian Paice, Rod Evans, Glenn Hughes and David Coverdale.  Notably absent are founding bassist Nick Simper and guitarist Tommy Bolin, who played on one album, 1975’s Come Taste The Band.

Eligibility for membership in the Hall begins 25 years after the release of an artist’s first record.  Nominees are scrutinized and voted on by over 800 critics, executives, music experts and past winners.  One fan ballot is also included, with artists picked by the public.

The 2016 ceremony will be recorded in Brooklyn and broadcast by HBO later in the spring.

Love, Dr. Scott James
RSSSubscribe to Scott’s NOW posts via RSS


Leave a reply