Hall Of Fame Nominees [various/Scott James]

Who will be in the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame this time?  Gentlies and ladymen, your nominees:  Pearl Jam, Tupac Shakur, Depeche Mode, Electric Light Orchestra, Jane’s Addiction, Janet Jackson, Journey, The Cars, The Zombies, Yes, Bad Brains, Chaka Khan, Chic, The J. Geils Band, Joan Baez, Joe Tex, Kraftwerk, MC5 and Steppenwolf.

To be eligible this year, a nominee’s first single or album had to be released in or before 1991.  A few of the nominees have been included on previous ballots, while this is the first time around for Bad Brains, Depeche Mode, Electric Light Orchestra, Jane’s Addiction, Joan Baez, Journey, Pearl Jam, Steppenwolf, and Tupac Shakur.  Pearl Jam and Shakur became eligible for the first time this year, and Chic set a Hall of Fame record with 11 ballot appearances.  It’s the fifth for Joe Tex, the fourth for the J. Geils Bands and Kraftwerk and the third for Yes.

Departing from tradition, the Hall Of Fame has revealed which individual band members will be honored.  Out of Pearl Jam’s five drummers, only current drummer Matt Cameron and founding member Dave Krusen would be inducted, should they get the nod.  Electric Light Orchestra have seen numerous personnel come and go, but only Jeff Lynne, Roy Wood, Bev Bevan and Richard Tandy made the cut.  The Steve Perry iteration of Journey is recognized, along with founding keys player/vocalist Gregg Rolie.  As for Yes, original singer Jon Anderson is on the ballot alongside drummers Bill Bruford and Alan White, keyboardists Tony Kaye and Rick Wakeman, axemen Steve Howe and Trevor Rabin and bassist Chris Squire.  Depeche Mode’s keyboardist Vince Clarke departed the band after their debut album Speak & Spell, but he remains listed with the rest of the band.

Previously, we’ve seen one-off reunions of fragmented bands during the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame ceremonies;  potential get-togethers this time would include Journey with Steve Perry, Yes with Anderson, Rabin, Kaye, Bruford and Wakeman, ELO with Wood and Bevan, the vintage 1970s Kraftwerk lineup, J. Geils with John Geils and Stephen Jo Bladd and Depeche Mode with Clarke and Alan Wilder.

Love, Dr. Scott James
RSSSubscribe to Scott’s NOW posts via RSS


Leave a reply