Chances are you’ve seen some of comedian Jim Breuer‘s videos floating around on the Intertrons; this one, in which he demonstrates that even the Hokey Pokey can be performed AC/DC style, is particularly amusing.

Now, Breuer has an album of his own.  On his — as he puts it — “respectable metal album”, Songs From The Garage, he’s joined by his band The Loud And Rowdy and AC/DC’s on-hiatus lead singer Brian JohnsonSongs From The Garage will be released next Friday, May 27.

For the disc, the Saturday Night Live alum cobbled together a package of “hard rock and metal for my generation.”  He indicated that 80s period metal is a benchmark for his sound, and added that anyone who’s expecting a comedy album might do a bit of a doubletake when they hear the “real songs” on the record.

“I think it’s going to surprise most people,” he said.  “I think the hard rock, metal world will embrace [it], where many other people who thought it was going to be really funny will think, ‘Oh, he really wasn’t that funny in it. He wrote some real songs.’  So, I don’t know what to expect from it, but it’s definitely hard rock and metal for my generation.”

Breuer’s AC/DC pal laid down some vocals on the album, specifically on My Rock ‘n Roll Dream, and this one, Mr. Rock ‘n Roll.

Speaking to Rolling Stone hacks, Breuer said, “To me, Brian is the most powerful voice in rock’n’roll.  He is also the funniest and most generous man I have ever known.  I am still in awe of how he recorded the song and forever thankful.”

Songs from the Garage:

1. Thrash
2. Raising Teenage Girls
3. Old School
4. Be a Dick 2Nite
5. My Rock n Roll Dream (with Brian Johnson)
6. Mr. Rock n Roll (with Brian Johnson)
7. Who’s Better Than Us?!
8. Family Warrior
9. Sugar Rush
10. Wannabe
11. The Unexplained

Love, Dr. Scott James
RSSSubscribe to Scott’s NOW posts via RSS


Leave a reply