Estranged Cheap Trick drummer, 2016 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame inductee and chainsmoking computer programmer doppelgänger Bun E. Carlos will release his new solo album Greetings From Bunezuela! (heh heh) on Friday June 24.  The collection features 13 rock tunes, 10 of which are are covers, including The Who‘s Armenia In The Sky, The Bee GeesIdea and other soon to be not-overlooked obscurities.

Guests on the album, thereby rendering it not quite such a solo effort, include Robert Pollard from Guided By Voices, original Cheap Trick vocalist Xeno, Hanson, Alejandro Escovedo, Dave Pirner of Soul Asylum, John Stirratt from Wilco, Nicholas Tremulis, Alex Dezen of Damnwells, Rick Rizzo from Eleventh Dream Day and members of Candy Golde and the Monday Night Band.  See?  Not so solo.

The first single, Do Something Real, is a remake of a Robert Pollard song from back in 1999 and features lead wailing from — wait for it — Robert Pollard.

Listen HereTracklisting for Greetings From Bunezuela! (sequence subject to revision):

  1. Do Something Real – Robert Pollard lead vocal (Robert Pollard solo)
  2. Him Or Me – featuring Hanson (Paul Revere & The Raiders)
  3. Armenia In The Sky – John Stirratt lead vocal (The Who)
  4. I Love You No More – Alex Dezen lead vocal (The Blackstones)
  5. Tell Me – Alejandro Escovido lead vocal (The Rolling Stones)
  6. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, A Train To Cry – Dave Pirner lead vocal (Bob Dylan)
  7. Let The Mystery Be – Xeno lead vocal (Iris DeMent)
  8. Idea – Robert Pollard lead vocal (The Bee Gees)
  9. Le Cactus – Nicholas Tremulis lead vocal (Jacque DuTronc)
  10. I Can Only Give You Everything – Rick Rizzo lead vocal (Them)
  11. Slow Down – Alejandro Escovido lead vocal (Alejandro Escovedo)
  12. Count On Me – Xeno lead vocal (Fra Lippo Lippi)
  13. I Don’t Mind – Alex Dezen lead vocal (Alex Dezen)

Love, Dr. Scott James
RSSSubscribe to Scott’s NOW posts via RSS


Leave a reply